HanseGilde 1


The HANSA Guild advises and supports the Union of Cities THE HANSA in its activities and projects, and also initiates its own projects. In general, members of the HANSA Guild are people who have shown particular commitment to THE HANSA in the course of their previous professional or honorary activities, and who continue to contribute their experience to the work of the city group as members of the Guild.

The HANSA Guild was set up by a resolution of the Assembly in 2004, and since then it has been a permanent part of THE HANSA.


Aims of the HANSA Guild

The objective of the Union of Cities THE HANSA is to contribute to the economic, cultural, social and governmental unification of Europe and to strengthen the self-confidence of the towns and cities so that they can play their part as a place of living democracy. The HANSA Guild supports the Union of Cities in fulfilling this objective and has taken on the following tasks:

  • Active support of THE HANSA events at regional, inter-regional and international level
  • Conduct of meetings in the form of regional events, e.g. the Westphalian Hanseatic Day, other Hanseatic events and in particular international Hanseatic Days
  • Supporting and conducting campaigns to promote the idea of THE HANSA among the general public
  • Promotion of exchange of culture and traditions, strengthening economic and trading contacts, and enhancing exchange of knowledge, social viewpoints and information
  • Conduct and support of individual HANSA projects

Current project: Hanseatic Passport

Experience the diversity of the European Hanseatic cities and get to know the culture, architecture and the very special Hanseatic feeling at first hand! Explore the sights in the small and large Hanseatic cities and embark on a discovery tour through Europe. With the Hanseatic Passport you can create your very own personal travel documentation.

Read more

Wijnand Akkerman, Zwolle
Marika Barone, Riga
Hannes Bartels, Salzwedel
Rolf Becker, Warburg
Yannic Bobsien, Lüneburg
Dr. Jürgen Bohmbach, Stade
Nicole Czerwinski, Rostock
Ulrich Damke, Salzwedel
Sabine Danicke, Salzwedel
Anke Dartsch, Rostock
Dr. Heinz Günther Focken, Lippstadt
Ernst Freistühler, Neuss
Isak Freydmann, Welikij Nowgorod
Michael Giesen, Neuss
Lina Handrek, Lübeck
Dr. Wilfried Hornburg, Anklam
Mats Jansson, Visby
Herbert Kleipaß, Emmerich a.R.
Natalia Kretsch, Welikij Nowgorod
Lennart Krüger, Lübeck
Franz-Ulrich Lücke, Lippstadt
Mikko Lohikoski, Turku
Ulrich Mädge, Lüneburg
Karl-Heinz Mense, Lemgo
Dietlinde Müller, Gronau Leine
Hartmut Müller, Gronau Leine
Hans-Werner Rixe, Dortmund
Udo Schulte, Hamm
Wolfgang Schwade, Lippstadt
Michael Stickeln, Warburg
Maximilian Stranz, Salzwedel
Felicia Sturm, Osnabrück
Fabian Sturm, Osnabrück
Dagmar Szabados, Halle/S.
Martin Wehner, Einbeck
Christian Woelk, Lemgo
Jutta Zachow, Lübeck (Vorsitzende)
Dr. Rainer Zirbeck, Braunschweig


If you have any questions on the HANSA Guild or would like to support our work, please contact us!

Jutta Zachow
Chair of HANSA Guild
Town Hall
Breite Straße 62
23539 Lübeck