Warburg Banner


Warburg is located in the border triangle of North Rhine-Westphalia, Hesse and Lower Saxony. The town consists of the core town and 15 districts. The mighty churches, residential and fortified buildings from the heyday of the Hanseatic League bear witness to the former wealth and artistry of the inhabitants of this town. The view of Warburg from the south is unanimously considered to be one of the most beautiful in Westphalia. Today's old town grew in the Diemel river valley with its fortress on the Wartberg, which was first mentioned in a document around 1010. Above it, the new town developed on the ridge. Both initially independent towns were under the protection of the bishops of Paderborn. Large parts of the mighty town wall, five defence towers and two town gates from the end of the 13th century, are still preserved today and characterise the historical image of the Diemelstadt. Warburg experienced its economic heyday when it joined the Hanseatic League in 1364. In the "Groten breff" of 1436, it was decided to have a joint "one council" administration. Visitors can get a historical overview of the town's development in the museum in the "Stern", but Warburg is also a modern town with a traffic-calmed shopping zone, pretty boutiques, attractive retail outlets and a wide range of cultural and leisure activities.

Official Webpage

Open Webpage

Facts & Figures

Icon Founded


Year 1036

Icon Location


51.48865 latitude and 9.148838 longitude

Icon Population



What is the city known for?



  • Town festival "Kälkenfest"
  • October Week