Explore the Hanseatic city Emmerich am Rhein
Rhine bridge

Emmerich is located on the wide green plain of the lower Rhine valley, directly on the Rhine. The city looks back on a moved historical past. Round 700 the first church was founded by the bishop of the diocese Utrecht, Willibrord.
Emmerich was first documented as "villa Embrica" in 828. With the charter of May 31 in 1233, c

With the charter of May 31 in 1233, count Otto of Zutphen and Geldern (with authorization of the Roman Emperor Friedrich II and the German king Heinrich) raised the villa Emmerich to the status of a royal town. With reinforcement and municipal state, Emmerich received the city seal and city arms. The latter, by the way, is the eldest on German ground.

Before the end of the 14th century, Emmerich was already a member of the Hanseatic league. In spite of changing rulers Emmerich was flourishing until the 16th century. In World War II, on the 7th October 1944, this beautifull town, once known as "cierrad van het geheelde cleefsche land" (jewel of the whole country around Kleve) was bombed by the allied airforces and destroyed for 97 %.

Today Emmerich on the Rhine is a industy- and tradecity with excellent qualities for relaxing: walking, biking, or the culture programm of the municipal theatre, the 1,5 km long Rhinepromenade with it`s rosegarden, beach-chairs and view on on the longest suspension-bridge in Germany. Elten, a recognized health resort,thge meadows with their pollard-willows, the nature reserves with rare flora and fauna invites to walk and bike.


Pictures of the Hanseatic City of Emmerich am Rhein

Emmerich am Rhein

infoCenterEmmerich
Rheinpromenade 27
46446 Emmerich am Rhein